FHSU business students at conference receive recognition, scholarship

Brittany Ballou, a Hastings, Neb., senior at Fort Hays State University, received a $500 scholarship from the Kansas Business Education Association's Board of Directors at the association's fall convention.

Two FHSU business education alumni were also recognized: Jessica Thompson, Overland Park , as the Rookie Teacher of the Year, and Shanna Zimmerman, Hays, the Kansas Business Teacher of the Year.

Two other students in the FHSU business education program had roles at the convention. Felix Albl, Prairie Village junior, issued greetings on behalf of Kansas Collegiate DECA, and Tory Arnberger, Great Bend senior, spoke on behalf of Future Business Leaders of America and Phi Beta Lambda.

"We are extremely proud of all five of these individuals," said Scott R. Jones, instructor of management and marketing. "They help put business education and the College of Business and Entrepreneurship on the radar of our high school business teachers across Kansas."

Back to top