FHSU director of police named president of Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police

Ed Howell, director of police at Fort Hays State University, recently became the 46th president of the Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police (KACP).

Howell is only the second university police officer to be elected president.

The KACP, formed in 1965, has grown to more than 400 chiefs of police from across the state "dedicated to the advancement of law enforcement."

The group's Articles of Incorporation state that KACP is a non-profit corporation organized "to secure a closer official relationship amongst police officials throughout the state; to secure unity of action in police matters; to elevate the standard of police institutions and the police profession generally; to pursue humane efforts in the enforcement of laws; to encourage the advancement and perfection of a uniform police system within the state of Kansas."

Back to top