Alumnus and chapter of the year recognized for service

The Fort Hays State University Alumni Association has named
Dr. Jennifer (Ratzlaff) Brantley, Halstead, a 1993 graduate, as the recipient of the 2015 Chapter Volunteer of the Year award. Brantley was recognized by the Alumni Association Board of Directors at its annual meeting in early June.

As president of the chapter, Brantley brings a wealth of skills, volunteer and event experience and an exuberance for FHSU, which has helped make the chapter highly successful in bringing together and engaging area alumni and friends.

The Chapter of the Year award, announced at the same time, went to the South Central Kansas Area Tiger Alumni and Friends chapter. The chapter, established in 2011, serves Butler, Cowley, Harper, Harvey, Kingman, Sedgwick and Sumner counties.

Throughout the 2014 year, the chapter hosted a variety of Happy Hour events, the annual Student Recognition Program, a Tiger Student Send-Off Party, Tiger football and basketball watch parties, a meet and greet with FHSU President Mirta M. Martin, and a Tiger Illuminations reception at the Botanica Gardens in Wichita. The chapter award includes a $500 cash stipend to use for further chapter development.

Established in 1916, the Fort Hays State University Alumni Association serves the population of FHSU graduates by identifying needs and providing solutions. More than 60,000 graduates live throughout the United States and approximately 74 foreign countries. Eleven chapters are active across the states of Kansas, Oklahoma and Texas. If interested in participating, contact the Alumni Office at 785-628-4430, toll free at 1-888-351-3591 or by email at

Back to top