Getty, Schmidtberger recognized with Distinguished Service Awards

12/01/15 kb
HAYS, Kan. -- Judy Getty, director of student fiscal services, and Jan Schmidtberger, bookkeeper for the Athletics Department, were named the winners of the 2015 Distinguished Service Awards at the 28th annual Christmas Holiday Party today at Fort Hays State University.

University President Mirta M. Martin presented the winners with $500 checks and certificates of appreciation.

The Distinguished Service Award, begun in 2007, recognizes one university support staff member and one member of the unclassified professional staff. The award is given for excellence and dedication and commitment to FHSU over a sustained period. Each recipient receives $500 and a certificate of appreciation.

Getty, who has worked at FHSU since 1972, is the unclassified professional staff winner, and Schmidtberger, who first worked at the university in 1996, is the university support staff winner.

"Judy has served the university for 43 years, and the folks who nominated her point out that she is patient, kind, thorough, understanding and knowledgeable in working with students who face difficult financial situations," said President Martin. "I know personally that she is always willing to step up and do what needs to be done even when it requires efforts outside her basic areas of responsibility."

Introducing Schmidtberger, the president said, "The letters nominating Jan emphasize that she is not only extremely competent in her basic responsibilities, but she goes the extra mile in her service to Fort Hays State. As the supervisor of ticket sales for Tiger athletic events, she is the face of the university to thousands of people every year. I am proud to have her in that role."

The fall 2015 winners of faculty awards for scholarship, teaching and service were also recognized at today's celebration. Their awards were previously announced when the winners received surprise visits in their classrooms.

Anita Walters, an instructor of health and human performance, won the fall Outstanding Teaching Award; Mark Eberle, program specialist in the Department of Biological Sciences, was presented with the Outstanding Scholarly Activity Award; and Dr. Lorie Cook-Benjamin, associate professor of teacher education, received the Outstanding Service Award.

All three recipients received a $500 check for their accomplishments. In the spring semester, three more faculty members will be recognized for teaching, scholarly activity and service, and together with this semester's winners will constitute the pool from which the Faculty Member of the Year will be chosen. That winner will be announced at the Fall Convocation in August. The Faculty Member of the Year Award carries a $1,000 cash prize.

Each of the five colleges of the university nominates outstanding faculty members to receive the awards. Recipients are selected by a committee appointed by the respective college deans.

University personnel are also recognized at the Holiday Party for their years of service.

This year, the university recognized four 40-year employees; seven 30-year employees; 12 employees with 20 years of service and 22 with 10 years. The FHSU Alumni Association also recognized eight employees for 25 years of service.

Those names were released in November, but they are included here for convenience.

40 years
Diana Hand, administrative assistant, Political Science.
Michael Lacy, technical support manager, Technology Services.
Cheryl Schmeidler, administrative officer, Physical Plant.
Colleen Taylor, administrative assistant, Art and Design.

30 years
LaVerne Dreiling, plumber, Buildings Maintenance.
Mark Eberle, program specialist, Biological Sciences.
Kathy Herrman, director, purchasing, Administration and Finance.
Eddie Howell, director of university police, University Police.
Janie Meder, administrative assistant, Allied Health.
Elmer Schmidt, HVAC technician, Buildings Maintenance.
Lucille Williams, administrative associate, Office of the Registrar.

25 years
Bruce Bardwell, assistant professor of music and theatre.
Jo Anne Crispin, administrative associate, Graduate School.
Linn Ann Huntington, professor of communication studies.
Leland Powers, associate professor of art and design.
Lawrence Rupp, programmer/analyst, Technology Services.
Kerry Schuckman, licensure officer, College of Education.
Carol Solko-Oliff, director, of international student services, Office of Student Affairs.
Roger, Weigel, skilled trades supervisor, Energy Division.

20 years
Geralyn Allen, human resource specialist, Personnel Office.
Dr. Greg Farley, professor of biological sciences and interim dean of the College of Science, Technology and Mathematics.
Vickie Fisher, custodial manager, Custodial Services.
Ron Haag, program specialist, Health and Human Performance.
James Helget, buildings maintenance manager, Custodial Services.
Ken Jacobs, director of maintenance and construction, Physical Plant.
Robert Klaus, plumber, Buildings Maintenance.
Becky Kuhn, custodian, Gross/Cunningham Operations.
Michael Nease, manager of the Technology Support Center, Technology Services.
Richard Packauskas, professor of biological sciences.
Dr. Josephine Squires, professor of political science.
Robert Weigel, general maintenance and repair technician, Gross/Cunningham Operations.

10 years
Dr. Lexey Bartlett, associate professor of English.
Jeanette Billinger, administrative assistant, FHSU Alumni Association.
Dr. David Bovee, associate professor of history.
Dr. Jayne Brandel, associate professor of communication sciences and disorders and department chair.
Kevin Burd, telecommunications technician, Technology Services.
Benjamin Cline, associate professor of music and theatre and department chair.
Mark Cook, PC support technician, Technology Services.
Dr. Terry Crull, associate professor of music and theatre.
Santina Dechant, coordinator, Prometric Test Center, Kelly Center.
Dr. Ellis Joyce, associate professor of health and human performance.
Dr. Conchita Espino-Bravo, assistant professor of modern languages.
Dr. Eric Leuschner, associate professor of English and interim department chair.
Janice Napell, custodian, Custodial Services.
Dr. Janett Naylor-Tincknell, associate professor of psychology.
Erik Perdersen, vice president of entrepreneurship, Kansas Center for Entrepreneurship.
Dr. Joseph Perniciaro, associate professor of music and theatre.
Ryan Prickett, sports information director, Athletics Department.
Stephen Radley III, director, Kansas Center for Entrepreneurship.
Dr. Robert Scott, assistant professor of teacher education.
Anita Walters, instructor of health and human performance.
Blake Weigel, electrician, Buildings Maintenance.
Beverly Wilkens, administrative assistant, teacher education.

Back to top