FHSU Communication Studies students and faculty win awards

2016 Kansas Professional Communicators Conference winners

05/23/16 lds
HAYS, Kan. -- Two public relations projects produced by students from Fort Hays State University won a first and a second-place award in the recent 2016 Kansas Professional Communicators statewide contest.

Both entries were produced in 2015 in classes taught by Dr. Hsin-Yen Yang (pronounced sheen-yen-yahng), assistant professor of communication studies.

State winners were announced at the KPC Conference in Winfield. First-place winners will advance to the National Federation of Press Women communications contest. Winners in the national contest will be awarded at the national conference in Wichita from Sept. 8 through Sept. 10.

Twelve students won first place in the collegiate division for "Building the Future of Public Relations Student Society of America at FHSU." The students are listed by hometown with current classifications and high schools.

Burdett (67523): Scarlett Olsen, senior, is a Pawnee Heights High School graduate.

Calhan, Colo. (80808)
: Christina Munster, junior, is a Calhan High School graduate.

Colorado Springs, Colo. (80919): Chelsea Payne, junior, is an Air Academy High School graduate.

Colwich (67030): Chase Kear, senior, is an Andale High School graduate.

Garden City (67846): Carla Parra-Martinez, sophomore, is a Garden City High School graduate.
Jayden Speer, junior, is a Garden City High School graduate.

Goddard (67052): Marina Witt, senior, is a Northeast Magnet School graduate.

Hays (67601): Cody Luebbers, junior, is a Hays High School graduate.

Lenexa (66227): Sophia Young, senior, is a De Soto High School graduate.

Medicine Lodge (67104): Zach Larkin, senior, is a Medicine Lodge High School graduate.

Osborne (67473): Katherine Hindman, senior, is an Osborne High School graduate.

Toledo, Ohio (43606): Libby Flores, senior, is a St. Ursula Academy graduate.

"It is an honor to win first place in this statewide contest. Our team worked diligently to produce a thoughtful, informative and creative campaign to launch the PRSSA Chapter at FHSU," said Flores. "It was a privilege to work with such a creative team, and we are all extremely thankful for all of Dr. Hsin-Yen Yang's support and guidance throughout this project and the semester."

Six students took second in the Web and social media division for non-profit campaign for "Envision Volcanes: Breaking the Cycle of Poverty with Education." Students are listed by hometown with classification and high schools.

Dodge City (67801): Tanner Schubert, senior, is a Hodgeman County High School graduate.

Garden City (67846):
Melissa Galvez, a 2015 FHSU graduate, is a Garden City High School graduate.

Hays (67601): Alexis Pfannenstiel, senior, is a Hays High School graduate.

Hutchinson (67502): Victoria Hale, senior, is a Trinity Catholic High School graduate.

Kearney, Neb. (68845): Noelle Husmann, a 2015 FHSU graduate, is a Kearney Catholic High School graduate.

Lancaster, Texas (75146):
Laura Calvillo-Martinez, a 2015 FHSU graduate, is a Ferris High School graduate.

"Advocacy, diversity and critical thinking are always the core values in our public relations courses," said Yang. "The students created these campaigns to advance education, professionalism and social equality not only within the United States, but also cross-border. I am glad to see that their hard work has not gone unnoticed."

Cutline: FHSU students and faculty were awarded at the 2016 Kansas Professional Communicators Conference in Winfield, on Friday, April 29, 2016. From left: Dr. Hsin-Yen Yang, Chase Kear, Katherine Hindman, and Jayden Speer.

Back to top