President Martin asks 'family' to recruit, retain and give in FHSU Convocation remarks

Chris Bennett

08/17/16 kb/ks
HAYS, Kan. -- Dr. Chris Bennett, professor of biological sciences, was named the President's Distinguished Scholar today by FHSU President Mirta M. Martin at today's Fall Convocation at FHSU.

The president also announced the Faculty Member of the Year, the Edmund Shearer Advisor of the Year, the John Heinrichs Outstanding Undergraduate Mentor, the Virtual College Adjuncts of the Year and the Closing the Loop Award.

As the President's Distinguished Scholar, Bennett will receive a medallion and a $1,500 cash award. He was selected by President Martin from recommendations forwarded by an evaluation committee of previous presidential scholars. Bennett will give a scholarly presentation later in the fall semester.

The Faculty Member of the Year was selected from the past year's recipients of faculty awards for teaching, research and scholarly activity, and service.

Dr. Graham Glynn, FHSU provost and vice president for academic affairs, presented the award to Dr. Stephen Donnelly, an assistant professor of chemistry, who was one of the 2015-2016 winners of the Outstanding Teaching Award. The $1,000 stipend is provided by Commerce Bank, Hays.

Glynn also called to the stage the other faculty award winners from last year:

Anita Walters, instructor of health and human performance, was the other winner of the outstanding teaching award for the 2015-16 year.

Mr. Mark Eberle, program specialist in the Department of Biological Sciences, and
Dr. Leo Herrman, associate professor of psychology, were the research and scholarly activity winners from last year.

Dr. Elodie Jones, assistant professor of teacher education, and Dr. Lorie Cook-Benjamin, associate professor of teacher education, were the service award winners.

Dr. Cole Engel, assistant professor of economics, finance and accounting, was named the Edmund Shearer Advisor of the Year. With the stipend of $500, sponsored by Commerce Bank, he will also be nominated for the National Academic Advising Association Award.

The two other nominees, Dr. Dr. Valerie Zelenka, associate professor of teacher education, and Tanya Smith, associate professor of nursing, receive $150 stipends, also sponsored by Commerce Bank.

Another biology faculty member, Dr. Yasuhiro Kobayashi, associate professor, was named the John Heinrichs Outstanding Research Mentor of the year. The award recognizes a faculty member for commitment, time and energy devoted to fostering research by undergraduate students. The award comes with a commitment of $500 of budget funding for the winner's academic department to benefit the recipient's work.

Five adjunct instructors and professors, one from each of the five academic colleges at FHSU, were recognized for providing outstanding online learning. Each of the winners was presented with a $500 award:

• Dr. Michael DeGrosky, from the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences.
• Christina Glenn, from the College of Business and Entrepreneurship;
• Marsha Moody, from the College of Education.
• Dr. Chelsea Schnabelrauch Arndt, from the College of Health and Behavioral Sciences.
• Dr. Larry Carver, from the College of Science, Technology and Mathematics.

The final award was the Closing the Loop Award, created last year to recognize the academic department deemed to have improved degree programs the most. The winner is determined through an analysis of the achievement rates of programs and student learning.

Glynn presented the award for 2016 to the Department of Nursing, in the College of Health and Behavioral Sciences, which will receive an additional $2,000 to be shared with department members responsible for the work. The additional funds can be used for valid professional development expenses such as travel and event expenses, equipment, and book purchases.

Back to top