Outstanding faculty awards for fall 2016 announced at Fort Hays State

HAYS, Kan. - Fall winners of Fort Hays State University's faculty awards for service, scholarly activity, and teaching have been announced, and presented during surprise visits to the classroom by Fort Hays State University Provost Graham Glynn.

Dr. Eric Gillock, professor of biological sciences, won the Outstanding Teacher Award. Dr. Trey Hill, assistant professor of psychology, was honored with the Outstanding Scholarly Activity Award, and Dr. David Fitzhugh, assistant professor of health and human performance, received the Outstanding Service Award.

All three recipients received a $500 check. The checks were presented by Glynn and Deron O'Connor, president of Commerce Bank, which provided $100 of each of the $500 awards.

Three other faculty members will be recognized for teaching, scholarly activity and service in the spring 2017 semester. Together with this semester's winners, these six faculty members will constitute the pool from which the Faculty Member of the Year will be chosen. That winner will be announced at the Fall Convocation in August. The Faculty Member of the Year Award carries a $1,000 cash prize.

Each of the five colleges of the university nominates outstanding faculty members to receive the awards. Recipients are selected by the academic deans who serve on the Academic Council.

Gillock, was cited for the wide variety of classes he teaches, "a tribute to his broad experiences in biology and science." The presentation also noted that he has been nominated several times for the FHSU Pilot Award and "frequently receives the 'Top Professor' Award from Mortar Board."

Hill has three publications in peer-reviewed journals and has co-edited a textbook on cognitive psychology. He has served as a faculty sponsor for two student publications in the Academic Leadership Journal in Student Research and has sponsored more than 20 student presentations. He is also a mentor for Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science students each year.

Fitzhugh's work as chair of the Athletic Training Program selection committee and several others was a major factor in his selection for the Service Award. He also participates in various community organizations, including Boy and Girl Scouts, as a volunteer at High Plains Sport Medicine, teaching CPR classes and providing coverage at local high school football games. In March, he will receive the Kansas Athletic Trainer of the Year award from the Kansas Athletic Trainer Society.

Back to top