FHSU Foundation announces 8 new trustees

HAYS, Kan. - The Fort Hays State University Foundation recently appointed eight new members to its Board of Trustees: Dr. Marcia Bannister, Dr. John Dorsch, Dr. Cole Engel, Stacy Kohlmeier, Clay Scott, Terry Siek, Cathy Van Doren and Tammy Wellbrock.

The board is composed of 47 alumni and friends of the university with each trustee serving a four-year term. Each trustee actively participates in a variety of activities contributing to the educational and financial success of the university and the FHSU Foundation.

Dr. Marcia Bannister earned both her undergraduate and master's degrees from Fort Hays State. In addition, she is a retired professor and past chair of FHSU's Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders.

Dr. John Dorsch, a 1976 graduate of FHSU, is an active medical practitioner and professor at the Kansas University School of Medicine in Wichita.

Dr. Cole Engel earned two undergraduate degrees and a master's degree from Fort Hays State. He is currently an assistant professor in FHSU's Department of Economics, Finance, and Accounting. He also serves as the Alpha Kappa Psi faculty advisor and is a certified public accountant.

Stacy Kohlmeier is a 1984 graduate of Fort Hays State. She is the vice president of marketing and sales for Florence Corporation in Manhattan, Kan.

Clay Scott, a 1994 graduate of FHSU, owns West Acres Grain.

Terry Siek earned both his undergraduate and master's degrees from Fort Hays State. Siek, a registered nurse, is vice president of patient care and chief nursing officer at Hays Medical Center.

Cathy Van Doren is a 1970 graduate of FHSU. She was formerly the director of development for the FHSU Foundation.

Tammy Wellbrock earned both her undergraduate and master's degrees from FHSU. She is the executive director of the Hays Area Chamber of Commerce.

Foundation trustees come from a variety of education and industry backgrounds representing 21 majors and all five colleges at Fort Hays State University. Current trustees reside in a variety of states including Kansas, Colorado, Missouri, Illinois and California. For a full list of trustees, visit http://foundation.fhsu.edu/about/board.php.

The FHSU Foundation is an independent, non-profit organization established in 1945. The mission of the Foundation is to support and advance FHSU by actively seeking monetary gifts and bequests and to receive and administer those contributions in a prudent manner in accordance with donors' wishes.

The Foundation is the fundraising arm of FHSU. It raises and manages all funds that are entrusted to it for the benefit of various needs in support of the university, and works closely with FHSU to support the university's initiatives.

To learn more about the Fort Hays State Foundation, visit http://foundation.fhsu.edu or contact the office at 785-628-5620 or foundation@fhsu.edu.

Back to top