Outstanding FHSU nursing graduates for fall 2018 recognized at nurse pinning ceremony

nursing awards

HAYS, Kan. – Outstanding fall 2018 graduates were announced in a pinning ceremony Friday and given Leora B. Stroup Awards by the Department of Nursing at Fort Hays State University.

The On Campus Bachelor of Science in Nursing award goes to Kaetlin Weninger, Burrton. She is a member of the esteemed Fort Hays State University Honors College program. Her summer internship was in Acute Care at Rooks County Health Center. During her BSN studies, she traveled abroad to the Dominican Republic, China, and the African country of Senegal.

The Registered Nurse to BSN Award goes to Brandi Warden, Towanda. Warden completed her Associate Degree in nursing in December 2017 at Butler Community College before completing her BSN this fall at FHSU. She is employed at Premier Living by Warden LLC, where she is the owner, administrator, and Registered Nurse.

The Master of Science in Nursing award goes to Jenna Flanagin, Colby. She graduated from Fort Hays State with her BSN in 2014. Her MSN is in nursing administration. In her workplace at Citizens Medical Center, Colby, she is the discharge coordinator, utilization review leader and lactation counselor leader.

The ceremony also recognized graduating on-campus BSN, RN to BSN and MSN students.

The Stroup awards, named for the founder of FHSU’s nursing program, recognize outstanding clinical performance, community involvement and academic achievement.

Cutline: From left: Brandi Warden; Kaetlin Weninger; and Jenna Flanagin.

Back to top