Nursing Banner

How to Reach Us

Department of Nursing
Fort Hays State University
600 Park Street
Stroup Hall 120B
Phone: 785-628-4256
Contact Us

Nursing Faculty & Staff

Manry, Jenny DNP, APRN,FNP-BC
Picture of Manry, Jenny DNP, APRN,FNP-BC

Chair and Associate Professor
Coordinator of Advanced Practice
E Mail: jamanry@fhsu.edu

Doctorate of Nursing Practice
Masters of Science in Nursing
Bachelor of Science in Nursing
Certified Family Nurse Practitioner
Certification in Pediatric Advanced Life Support
Certification in ANCC


Consultation Areas:

  • Adult Care
  • Pediatric Care
  • Family Practice
  • Electronic Medical Records
Arias, Alicia MSN, RN
Picture of Arias, Alicia MSN, RN

Assistant Professor of Nursing
E Mail: adarias@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-4586

Master of Science in Nursing
Bachelor of Science in Nursing
Bachelors of Art in Justice Studies

Consultation Areas:

  • Medical/Surgical Nursing
  • Nurse Education
  • Orthopaedic Nursing
  • Pediatric Nursing
  • Gerontology
  • Crisis Prevention
Cole, Kelly MSN, RN
Picture of Cole, Kelly MSN, RN

Assistant Professor of Nursing
E Mail: kacole2@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-4345

Master of Science in Nursing - Education
Bachelor of Science in Nursing
Associate of Applied Science - Nursing
Certificate - Licensed Practical Nurse


Certifications:

  • Basic Life Support
  • Advanced Cardiac Life Support
  • Pediatric Advanced Life Support
  • Basic Life Support - Instructor
Patricia A. Drees MSN, RN
Picture of Patricia A. Drees MSN, RN

Assistant Professor
E Mail: padrees@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-41225

Masters of Science in Nursing
Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Certifications:

  • Medical/Surgical Nursing
  • Maternal-Newborn Nursing
  • Mental Health Nursing
  • Simulation and Clinical Education
Gabel, Katherine (Katie) MSN, RN, CCRN
Picture of Gabel, Katherine (Katie) MSN, RN, CCRN

Virtual College Lecturer for Nursing Department
E Mail: kegabel@fhsu.edu

Master of Science in Nursing

Consultation Areas:

Nursing Leadership
Critical Care Nursing
Nursing Education

Certifications:

  • Critical Care Registered Nurse - Board Certified
  • Advanced Cardiac Life Support - Instructor
Gubitoso, Mary Jo, ARNP-C DNP
Picture of Gubitoso, Mary Jo, ARNP-C DNP

Assistant Professor
E Mail: mjgubitoso@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)-628-5454

Master's program: Adult Health Nurse Practitioner
Bachelor of Science of Nursing
RN License
ARNP License
ANCC-American Nursing Credentialing Committee
ACLS-Advanced Cardiac Life Support

Affiliations:

  • Member of the AACN Professional Association
  • American College of Cardiology
  • Signa Theta Tau
  • Preventative Cardiovascular Nurse's Association
Harding, Janelle (Jan) MSN
Picture of Harding, Janelle (Jan) MSN

Assistant Professor
E Mail: jrharding@fhsu.edu

Masters of Science in Nursing
Bachelors of Science in Nursing

Hober, Christine PhD, N-B, CNE
Picture of Hober, Christine PhD, N-B, CNE

Professor
E Mail: chober@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-4510

PhD-Nursing Philosophy
Master of Science in Nursing-Education
Bachelor of Science in Nursing
Associate Degree in Nursing
Certified Nurse Educator

Consultation Areas:

  • Medical Surgical Nursing
  • Nurse Education
  • Community Health
  • Pediatric Care
  • Adult Care
Insley, Carolyn, MS, MSN, BSN, RN
Picture of Insley, Carolyn, MS, MSN, BSN, RN

Associate Professor
E Mail: cinsley@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-4514

Diploma in Nursing
Bachelor of Science in General Science
Bachelor of Science in Nursing
Master of Science (Education/Secondary Education)
Master of Nursing (Medical-Surgical)


Consultation Areas:

  • Medical/Surgical Nursing
  • Post Anesthesia Care Nursing
  • Patient Education
  • Cesarean Birth Education
  • Health Assessment
  • Nursing Education
  • Gerontology
  • Nursing Ethics
Keenan, Kara, APRN, RN
Picture of Keenan, Kara, APRN, RN

Instructor of Nursing
E Mail: klkeenan@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-4524

Keil, Shauna, MSN, RN-BC
Picture of Keil, Shauna, MSN, RN-BC

Assistant Professor
Email: slkeil@fhsu.edu
(785) 628-4516

Masters of Science in Nursing Education
Bachelors of Science in Nursing
Bachelors of Art in Sociology
Bachelors of Science in Criminal Justice

Certifications:

  • Basic Life Support
  • Advanced Cardiac Life Support
  • Pediatric Advance Life Support
  • Trauma Nurse Core Course
  • Certified Medical-Surgical Nurse
Madden, Theresa BSN, RN
Picture of Madden, Theresa BSN, RN

Program Specialist
E Mail: tamadden@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-4519

Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Ochs, Dorothy, MSN, BSN, ARNP-FNP, BC
Picture of Ochs, Dorothy, MSN, BSN, ARNP-FNP, BC

Assistant Professor
E Mail: dochs@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-5560

Coordinator of Advanced Nursing
Coordinator of FNP program
Diploma in Nursing
Bachelor of Science in Nursing
Master of Science in Nursing (FNP)
Certification as Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner & Family Nurse Practitioner(KSBN)

Consultation Areas:

  • Family Practice
  • Clinic Settings
  • Long-Term Care
  • Computer Technology in Nursing
Paramesh, Colleen DNP, NP-C
Picture of Paramesh, Colleen DNP, NP-C

Assistant Professor
E Mail: ctparamesh@fhsu.edu
Phone: (608)780-7840

Doctorate of Nursing Practice
Master of Science in Nursing
Family Nurse Practitioner
Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Sander, Rebecca K. MSN, RN
Picture of Sander, Rebecca K. MSN, RN

Associate Professor
E Mail: rksander@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-4407

Consultation Areas:

  • Medical/Surgical Nursing
  • High Risk
  • Simulation
  • Nursing Education
  • Community Health
Smith, Tanya, MSN, RN
Picture of Smith, Tanya, MSN, RN

Assistant Department Chair and Assistant Professor
Undergraduate Program Coordinator
Master's in Nursing Administration Track Coordinator
E Mail: tlsmith17@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-4036

Masters of Science in Nursing
Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Consultation Areas:

  • Medical/Surgical Nursing
  • Peri-Operative Nursing
  • Nursing Administration
Tomlinson, Debbie, DNP, MSN, BSN, APRN-FNP, B.C.
Picture of Tomlinson, Debbie, DNP, MSN, BSN, APRN-FNP, B.C.

Instructor of Nursing
E Mail: dstomlinson@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-5423

Consultation Areas:

  • Women's Health Care with Certification in Colposcopy
  • Advanced training in Cardiac stress testing
  • Adult, Pediatric, Family Care
  • Hospital and Family Clinic setting
Michelle Van Der Wege, MSN, APRN, FNP-C
Picture of Michelle Van Der Wege, MSN, APRN, FNP-C

Assistant Professor of Nursing
E-mail: mlvanderwege@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-4209

Master of Science in Nursing
Family Nurse Practitioner
Bachelor of Science in Nursing
Associate of Applied Science in Nursing

Consultation Areas:

  • Pharmacology
  • Community Nursing
  • Health Promotion and Education
Ward, Kathleen, MSN, BSN, RN
Picture of Ward, Kathleen, MSN, BSN, RN

Associate Professor
E Mail: krward@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-4660

Post Master's in Nursing Education
Master of Science in Nursing Administration
Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Consultation Areas:

  • OB/Postpartum/L & D
  • NICU
  • Education
  • Breastfeeding Educator
  • Research
Werth, Natasha, MSN, RN
Picture of Werth, Natasha, MSN, RN

Assistant Professor of Nursing
E Mail: nmwerth@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-4525

Master of Science in Nursing
Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Yu, Valerie DNP, APRN, CPNP-PC, FNP-BC, NNP-BC
Picture of Yu, Valerie DNP, APRN, CPNP-PC, FNP-BC, NNP-BC

Assistant Professor
E Mail: vlyu@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-4517

Doctorate of Nursing Practice
Post Graduate Certificate- Neonatal Nurse Practitioner
Post Graduate Certificate- Family Nurse Practitioner
Master of Science in Nursing
Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Zeller, Jana, MSN RN
Picture of Zeller, Jana, MSN RN

Assistant Professor of Nursing
E Mail: jjzeller@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-5561

Master of Science in Nursing
Bachelor of Science in Nursing Certifications:

  • Pediatric Advanced Life Support
  • Advanced Cardiac Life Support
  • Basic Life Support
  • American Heart Association-Instructor

Consultation Areas:

  • Cardiac and Pulmonary Nursing
  • Critical Care Nursing
  • Nursing Skills Lab
  • Nursing Practicum

ADJUNCT INSTRUCTORS

Schmidt, Amy
Picture of Schmidt, Amy

Senior Administrative Assistant
E Mail: alschmidt6@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-4498
Stroup Hall 129

Dechant, Joyce
Picture of Dechant, Joyce

Administrative Assistant
E Mail: jdechant@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-4256
Stroup Hall 123

Prospective Student Counselor
Undergraduate Studies

Ostrom, Lesley
Picture of Ostrom, Lesley

Academic Program Specialist
E Mail: laostrom@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-4327
Stroup Hall 120B

Front Office Manager

Prickett, Stacy MA, BA
Picture of Prickett, Stacy MA, BA

RN-BSN Academic Advisor
E Mail: skprickett@fhsu.edu
Phone: (785)628-4647

Academic Advisor, RN to BSN Program
College of Health & Behavioral Sciences
Student Engagement and Advising Center

Back to top