Department Banner

How to Reach Us

Office of the Provost
Fort Hays State University
600 Park Street
Sheridan Hall 302
Phone: (785) 628-4241
Fax: (785) 628-4157

Office Hours:
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Mon - Fri


2018-2019 Timelines for Academic Departments

The 2018-2019 tenure and promotion timelines reflect the Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) between Fort Hays State University Chapter of the American Association of University Professors and Fort Hays State University/Kansas Board of Regents. Faculty members in tenure-track positions are reviewed for continuation in tenure track in the first and second years at the departmental level; in the third and fourth years at the departmental and college levels; and in the fifth and sixth years at the departmental, college, and university levels.

Electronic notification of appropriate tenure timelines will be sent to all current tenure-track faculty based on our records at the present time. As new contracts are issued, we will do our best to ensure that the appropriate timeline is given to new tenure-track faculty. However, this responsibility ultimately lies with the chair.

Please note that under the negotiated agreement, the MOA establishes an August 25 deadline for submission of tenure files for faculty in third through sixth years of the tenure process, a November 15 deadline for files of faculty in first and second years of the tenure process, and a September 10 deadline for the submission of promotion files. The 2018-2019 timelines were developed with these deadlines and semester calendars in mind.

Promotion Timeline (PDF File)

Tenure Timeline for Faculty in First and Second Probationary Years (PDF File)
Tenure Timeline for Faculty in Third and Fourth Probationary Years (PDF File)
Tenure Timeline for Faculty in Fifth and Sixth Probationary Years (PDF File)


Back to top